Apply now for the 6th edition of the EUhackathon!

The theme of the 6th edition of the EUhackathon revolves around visualising copyright evidence to inform the policy debate and support the decision making process. The goal is to combine data and academic research from various sources to help create a clearer picture of the issues at stake in copyright, as sometimes the full story is difficult to grasp.  The UK Centre for Copyright and New Business Models in the Creative Economy (CREATe), which supports this event, has set-up a Copyright Evidence Wiki containing approximately 500 studies, which facilitates data mining and the creation of visualisations. This evidence could be complemented with industry data and reports, in order to achieve a greater transparency and awareness in the area of copyright

The challenge is to (1) create visualisations of copyright evidence based on the data sources available at the Copyright Evidence Wiki and other external resources and/or to (2) enhance the Copyright Evidence Wiki to enable others to easily create visualisations of the data available.

Interested? Apply before 1 September 2016 by clicking on the button below.


Read more about the #EUh2016 challenge

Read our Rules and our FAQ

Hosts EUhackathon awards ceremony

MEP Therese Comodini CachiaMEP Therese Comodini Cachia
(EPP, Malta)

Therese Comodini Cachia is a Member of the European Parliament since May 2014. She is a member of the CULT and JURI committees, and a substitute in the DROI committee. Since January 2015 she is the Maltese shadow Minister for Education and Employment.

She holds a PhD in human rights law, and lectures at the Faculty of Laws of the University of Malta. She has also been heavily involved in non-governmental organisations as their legal advisor.


Click on the relevant day to display the short version of the program, a full version can be found here.

08.00 – 08.30 – Registration at the Google offices

08.30 – 09.00 – Presentations

09.00 – Midnight – Coding

Rest time! Hackers are invited to go to their hotel (a 500 m walk) and get some rest. For the brave, free WiFi is available at the hotel.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served to the hackers during the day.

07.30 – Re-start coding

12.00 – 13.30 – Submission deadline / End of coding / Pitch time: Each participant or team will have the opportunity to briefly (max. 5 min.) present the project that was created during the EUhackathon.

13.30 – 14.30 – Jury convenes behind closed doors

15.00 – 17.00 – Awards ceremony in the European Parliament (room JAN 2Q2). The best projects will be presented to the audience and receive an award.

A cocktail reception is held at the end of the Awards Ceremony (16.30 – 17.00). Breakfast and lunch are served to the hackers during the day.

Location where is the event taking place

The coding will take place from 15 November 8.00 till 16 November 12.00 at the Google offices, Chaussée d’Etterbeek 180, 1040 Brussels, Belgium. EU officials and journalists are welcome to drop by, but have to announce themselves as EUhackathon visitor at the reception.

The awards ceremony will take place on 16 November at 15.00 in the European Parliament (room JAN 2Q2). People interested in attending should contact us at info[at]euhackathon[dot]eu before Friday 4 November CoB as access to the European Parliament requires prior authorization.

Keep in touch follow & like us